Rosberg crowned Champion as Hamilton wins Abu Dhabi thriller

Mercedes’ Nico Rosberg is the 2016 World Champion, after a tense 2016 Formula 1 Etihad Airways Abu Dhabi Grand Prix. Needing to finish on the podium to guarantee his first drivers' title and deny Mercedes teammate Lewis Hamilton, Rosberg came home second behind the Briton in a tense climax to the race at the Yas Marina Circuit on Sunday.

Rosberg became the 33rd driver to win a Formula One world championship crown following a dramatic and historic race. Rosberg entered the race knowing a podium would guarantee him the title, and while he eventually finished second, it was far from comfortable - he was initially bottled up behind Max Verstappen, and then came under severe late pressure from the Dutchman and Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel, who were able to close in as race leader Hamilton dictated the pace out front.

Recommend page

Vehicle units